European Travel Information and Authorization System

ETIAS Application for British Citizens

The new ETIAS travel authorization system has not been activated yet. In 2025 the updated border security system is expected to go live. Before travelling to the Netherlands, or any other Schengen country, all British citizens must submit an ETIAS visa waiver online.

ETIAS Process Step - 1

Get notified when ETIAS is mandatory

ETIAS Process Step - 2

Start ETIAS Application online

ETIAS Process Step - 3

Receive ETIAS confirmation

ETIAS Process Step - 4

Welcome to Europe

What’s ETIAS?

The European Travel Information and Authorization System, or ETIAS, is a revised visa waiver program that allows for short-term travel within Schengen. The European Commission designed the ETIAS modernized travel authorization program in 2016. The ETIAS system will revolutionize the way millions of Britons and international visitors travel to the Netherlands and other European nations. The updated border security system will be available in 2025. Before entering any of the 26 Schengen countries (plus San Marino, Vatican City, Romania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Croatia), all UK citizens will need to complete an electronic ETIAS application. It will be easy for international travellers to apply online in order to receive the ETIAS visa waiver program. It shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes. Many travellers may be curious as to why European countries have replaced the visa-free policy at their borders. ETIAS is an international authorization system that allows residents and travellers to travel internationally. It was created by the European Commission to increase border security and safety. It is part of a larger plan that aims to reduce travel-related risk and transnational crime, as well as combat illegal immigration and terrorism in the Schengen region. Foreign travellers who want to travel to the Schengen region will have to undergo mandatory pre-screening through the ETIAS travel authorization program.

It is easy to apply online for an electronic ETIAS visa waiver if you are a British citizen and want to travel to Netherlands, Spain or other Schengen nations. ETIAS offers enhanced visa waivers for international travellers from the UK and 59 additional nationalities. It is valid in all 26 Schengen nations. Visit our homepage to see a complete list of Schengen countries and countries eligible for the ETIAS Visa Waiver. It is important to remember that not all member countries of the European Union have signed the Schengen Agreement. The original signing of the Schengen Agreement was in 1985 by Belgium and France, Luxembourg, West Germany, and the Netherlands. The treaty now covers 26 European countries. However, the Schengen Agreement does not apply to all EU members. Norway and Switzerland are both members of the Schengen region and will require an ETIAS visa waiver just like the Netherlands. The Netherlands, however, is a member of the European Union and of Schengen. Norway and Switzerland, on the other hand, are not members of the EU but are members of Schengen. Ireland is an integral member of the EU but does not participate in the Schengen Agreement. Ireland, therefore, will not require an ETIAS visa waiver in order to enter its borders. It will, however, maintain its travel regulations, Common Travel Area (CTA), and other agreements with the UK.

Get Notified When ETIAS Becomes Mandatory! Check the latest news about travel requirements in Europe

Learn more about ETIAS

This page provides all information about ETIAS visa waiver requirements for British citizens who wish to travel to the Netherlands or other Schengen countries. This page will cover all the information you need including which documents you will need, possible reasons to cancel, refuse, and everything in between. Travel requirements can change at any time. We will continue to make sure that our website has the most up-to-date information on travel. We are dedicated to international travellers who trust our website. It is important that UK citizens planning to travel to the Netherlands understand how to apply for their ETIAS visa waiver. ETIAS will replace the existing visa-free Schengen travel policy for Britons and 59 eligible countries.ETIAS will offer an online application similar to the ESTA visa exemption program. British citizens travelling to the Netherlands won’t need to apply for a Schengen visa. Pre-approved international travellers will be able to enter any Schengen country with the updated visa waiver system. For a complete list, please visit our homepage. You will also find the 59 countries exempted from visa requirements that are eligible for the ETIAS Visa Waiver Program. It is important to note that an ETIAS travel authorization doesn’t guarantee entry into the country. Border officials will make the final decision in each case.

Information about the ETIAS visa waiver request

British citizens who are planning to travel to the Netherlands and other countries within the Schengen area can apply for the ETIAS visa waiver program to expedite their pre-screening. The electronic application takes about 10 minutes. ETIAS will send an approval/rejection email to most applicants within 24 hours of receiving their application. If there are no problems with the submitted application information, this is a confirmation. After reviewing the application, officials may request additional information. If there are any inconsistencies or if they want to verify the information, they may request a face-to-face interview. Most international travellers applying for ETIAS will find the process of obtaining travel authorization easy. To apply for ETIAS, you will only need an internet connection and a valid passport. UK citizens can apply online for travel approval in less than 24 hours. Additional information may be required by border officials, including hotel reservations, return flights or proof of sufficient funds. Britons will not need to apply for an additional ETIAS visa waiver within 3 years of the expiration date.

Information about the ETIAS visa waiver request



  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Last Name at Birth
  • Date of Birth


  • Place of Birth
  • Information Regarding Your Citizenship
  • Postal and physical addresses
  • Email address and phone number
  • Work Experience and Education
  • The first ETIAS country you intend to visit


  • Medical History
  • Criminal History
  • Terrorism or drug use
  • Previous travel to warzones
  • History of travel
Get Notified When ETIAS Becomes Mandatory!

Reasons why ETIAS Applications may be Cancelled or Rejected

After an ETIAS application has been submitted, there are several reasons why authorities could reject it. These reasons mostly stem from mistakes made when submitting an application online. Officials might also be concerned about the applicant’s legal status or travel history. An ETIAS application can be denied or cancelled for many reasons, including, but not limited:

  • The applicant submitted a passport or other travel document that Schengen Information Systems had identified as invalid, stolen or misappropriated by Schengen.
  • The applicant appears to be a criminal threat for Schengen citizens and other international visitors.
  • Because of their health, the applicant poses a threat to Schengen citizens and other international travellers.
  • It is possible that the applicant has a history of exceeding travel time limits or becoming an illegal immigrant.
  • The SIS has flagged the applicant before. They are not allowed to enter or stay in Schengen countries.
  • The deadline for applicants to request additional information in ETIAS applications has expired.
  • The applicant was invited for an interview in person, but he didn’t show up.